Understanding Off-Ball Rebounding Fouls: A Review of Play #7
In this training video, officials analyze Play #7 from the Baylor vs. BYU game, emphasizing the importance of determining the timing of an off-ball rebounding foul. The lead official demonstrates excellent positioning, while the crew effectively utilizes instant replay to assess whether the foul committed by #15 Green occurred before or after the shot was released. Key points include the significance of using the correct game clock for reviews and the implications of the foul on the scoring. This session aims to enhance officiating standards by clarifying reviewable situations and improving decision-making during critical moments of the game.
Play BreakDown
Play #7 Baylor vs BYU Rebounding Foul / Status of the ball
The focus and teaching point on this play is in regards to the off ball rebounding foul and if this is a reviewable play. Notice that the crew is in great position. Lead is wide and has a big picture view of his primary. Center is free throw line extended with open looks. Trail does a nice job position adjusting throughout the possession and not getting stuck in one place.
The Lead processes the play and calls a foul on #15 Green with 1:23 on the game clock. At this point the ball is about to enter the basket. The crew elects to go to the monitor to determine if the foul occurred prior to the release of the shot which by rule is reviewable.
By rule if the foul on #15 Green occurred prior to the release of the try as is what happens here, which can be seen by stopping the clip with 4.9sec on the shot clock that is mounted on the basket, the goal shall not count and the official shall assess #15 Green with a foul. Another teaching point here is to remember when using the monitor to not use or pay attention to the clock on the score banner provided by the TV broadcast as you can see it is often different than the actual clock which is mounted on the basket.
If the foul by #15 Green occurs after the try has been released, the goal shall count if successful and #15 Green shall be assessed a foul.
In games in which Instant Replay is used to determine when the foul was committed, the time when the foul was committed is determined by when the illegal contact actually occurred, and the clock should be adjusted, if there is a timing mistake, to the time of the illegal contact.